Skip to main content
qualitaet-of-peru Mountains

Home » About Us

Faire organic baby and children's clothes.

We developed Knoop Wear to produce children's clothing that is sustainable in every sense of the word. Our goal is to improve the world a little and the knob-per-knob. Our clothing is versatile and grows with children. The appearance of the garments can be changed by contact and the cuts can be worn over a long period. So we want to prevent parents constantly buy new clothes and have to sort out old.

Because it is important to us that our clothing is produced as ethically and environmentally friendly as possible, Knoop Wear clothing is made from 100% PeruvianPima cotton produced. For us it is important that our Knoop Wear clothing is produced ethically and ecologically impeccable as possible. As simple as it sounds, it is: we are developing clothes that we love and hope you also fall in love with her.

Lokales family run business

We are a small family business. Knoop Wear’s founders Nina, her brother Lenni and his wife Luci started the company when we realized how “unsustainable” children’s clothing can be. Nina was frustrated because her little daughter Maleah kept outgrowing her garments every few months and because the majority of children’s clothing was not made under environmentally friendly conditions or for sensitive skin.

The three of us designed Knoop Wear’s clothing locally - in Vancouver where Nina lives, and in Hamburg where Luci and Lenni live.

Wie we came to our name

Our residences are so far apart that they can cast a net across the globe. Nina lives in Vancouver, Canada and Lenni and Luci in Hamburg, Germany. But because our friendship alliance reaches far and to make a difference in the world our will, can build bridges, we decided the common "Knoop Wear" project to start.

The name says it all - we make clothes and our clothing is characterized by its Knööp. Knoop is Plattdüütsch meaning button. The Low German language arose among others from the merger of the German and Anglo-Saxon language area - just like our family. In this Nordic cultural area we found the common denominator and a chic connection between our port cities. Plietsch, right?

Teamarbeit in Lima, Peru.

team-peru-lima-knoop wear-2
team-peru-lima-knoop wear-1
team-peru-lima-knoop wear-3
partners-with-locals
internationally-partners
about-us-bottom cotton
Peruvian Pima cotton Bio

Skip to main content
qualitaet-aus-peru-berge

Startseite » Über uns

Faire Bio Baby-Kinderkleidung.

Wir entwickelten KnoopWear, um Kinderkleidung zu produzieren, die in jedem Sinne des Wortes nachhaltig ist. Unser Ziel ist es so die Welt ein wenig zu verbessern und das Knopf pro Knopf. Unsere Kleidung ist vielseitig und wächst mit Kindern mit. Das Aussehen der Kleidungsstücke kann durch wenden geändert werden und die Schnitte lassen sich über einen langen Zeitraum tragen. So wollen wir verhindern, dass Eltern ständig neue Kleidung kaufen und alte aussortieren müssen.

Jedes Kleidungsstück von KnoopWear wird zu hundert Prozent aus peruanischer Pima-Baumwolle hergestellt. Für uns ist es wichtig, dass unsere KnoopWear Kleidung ethisch und ökologisch so einwandfrei wie möglich produziert wird. So einfach wie es klingt, ist es auch: wir entwickeln Kleidung, die wir lieben und hoffen, dass du dich ebenfalls in sie verliebst.

Lokales familiengeführtes Unternehmen

Wir sind ein kleines Familien-Unternehmen, das aus Nina, ihrem Bruder Lenni und seiner Frau Luci besteht. Der Grundgedanke für KnoopWear kam mit der Geburt von Ninas Tochter Maleah und ihren zahlreichen Bodys, T-Shirts und Kleidern auf die Welt. Alle Kleidungsstücke passten ihr nur sehr kurz und Nina verzweifelte darüber, wie schnell Maleah aus ihren Kleidern herauswuchs und über die viele Kinderkleidung, die weder unter umweltfreundlichen Konditionen noch passend für die empfindliche Babyhaut hergestellt werden.

Zu dritt designen wir unsere KnoopWear-Kleidung und das lokal: Nina in Vancouver und Lenni und Luci in Hamburg.

Wie wir zu unserem Namen kamen

Unsere Wohnorte liegen so weit auseinander, dass sie ein Netz über den Globus spannen können. Nina lebt im kanadischen Vancouver und Lenni und Luci in Hamburg, Deutschland. Doch weil unser Freundschaftsbündnis weit reicht und unser Willen etwas in der Welt zu verändern, Brücken schlagen kann, beschlossen wir das gemeinsame Projekt „KnoopWear“ zu gründen.

Der Name ist dabei Programm – wir machen Kleidung und unsere Kleidung zeichnet sich durch ihre Knööp aus. Knoop ist Plattdüütsch und bedeutet Knopf. Die plattdeutsche Sprache entstand unter anderem aus der Verschmelzung des deutschen und des angelsächsischen Sprachraums – genau wie unsere Familie. In diesem nordischen Kulturraum fanden wir den gemeinsamen Nenner und eine schicke Verbindung zwischen unseren Hafenstädten. Plietsch, oder?

Teamarbeit in Lima, Peru.

team-peru-lima-knoopwear-2
team-peru-lima-knoopwear-1
team-peru-lima-knoopwear-3
partners-with-locals
international-partners
ueber-uns-bottom-cotton
Peruanische Pima Bio Baumwolle